In Brief


Ph.D Electrical Engineering, California Institute of Technology, 2008

MS Electrical Engineering, California Institute of Technology, 2004

B.Sc Electrical Engineering, summa cum laude, Technion, 2001



Associate Professor, Technion, EE Department, 2016-

Visiting Professor, Western Digital Research (Silicon Valley), 2018-19

Visiting Scholar, UC Berkeley, 2018-19

Assistant Professor, Technion, EE Department, 2011-2016

Scientist, Post-doc, EPFL – Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, 2010-2011

Research Staff Member, Hitachi Global Storage Technologies, 2008-2010

System Engineer, Qualcomm Inc. 2000-2002



TPC Member, IEEE Globecom 2021, Track on Cloud & Fog/Edge Computing, Networking and Storage

TPC Member, IEEE ISTC 2021

TPC Member, 2021 NVM Workshop

TPC Member, IEEE ITW 2020

TPC Co-Chair, 2020 NVM Workshop

TPC Member, ACM/Usenix SYSTOR 2020

Co-Chair,  IEEE Comm. DSTC 2016/17 paper awards committee

TPC Member, 2019 NVM Workshop

TPC Member, IEEE ISIT 2018

co-Chair, 2017 TCE Conference on Coding for Storage and Information Systems

TPC Member, International Zurich Seminar on Information and Communication, IEEE IZS 2018

TPC Member, ACM/Usenix SYSTOR 2017

TPC Member, 2017 NVM Workshop

TPC Member, ACM/Usenix SYSTOR 2016

TPC Member, IEEE ISIT 2016

TPC Member IEEE DCOSS 2015

TPC Member 2015 NVM Workshop

TPC Member, ACM/Usenix SYSTOR 2015

Co-organizer, TCE Workshop on Coding for Emerging Memories and Storage Technologies 2015.

Web chair, IEEE ITW 2015 Jerusalem

TPC Member, IEEE ISIT 2015

TPC Member, MSST 2014 (The IEEE Storage Conference)

TPC Member, 2014 NVM Workshop

TPC Member, IEEE ISIT 2014

TPC Member, IEEE ISIT 2013

TPC Member, IPDPS 2013

Organizer, Technion-EE Seminar on Communication and Information Theory 2011-2015

TPC Member, IEEE ICNC 2012

Organizer and chair, 2011 EPFL Workshop on Practice-Oriented Coding Theory

Co-organizer, CAACT 2011, Workshop on Combinatorial, Algebraic and Algorithmic Aspects of Coding Theory



Hershel Rich Technion Innovation Award, 2017

Henry Gutwirth Research Award, 2017

Viterbi Faculty Fellowship in the Technion Center for Computer Engineering

Best Student Paper Award in Data Storage, IEEE Communications Society, 2010

Powell Fellowship, 2006-2007

Atwood Fellowship, 2002-2003

2001 Texas Instruments $100,000 Worldwide DSP and Analog Challenge top award


Research Supported By

European Union FP7

Intel Center for Computing Intelligence

Israel Ministry of Science and Technology

Israel Science Foundation (ISF)

German-Israeli Foundation (GIF)



US-Israel Binational Science Foundation (BSF/NSF)




Erdős Number

2 (through Robert J. McEliece)

Co-authors by Nationality